Happy First Advent!

 
Even though I was baptised as a child I was never brought up in a very religious family. Still, Christmas is an important part of our annual traditions where the house has to be decorated with christmas candlesticks in every window, colorful globes, angels, cinamon cookies, safton bread and a big feast on christmas eve followed by exchange of gifts.
Since the reason why I celebrate christmas does not really relate to the actuall reason why christian people celebreate, I believe every person has their own reason why accompaning the rituals in the month of December!  
 
This very first day of December made me wanna bring some "christmas spirit" and I ended up making my own "advent candlestick" with four candles surrounded by beautiful Jasmin flowers!
I want to see it as my own "praying area" with the candles reminding me of the things going on back home at the moment with all the preparations that is made before the 24th, the Jasmin flowers that is a common decoration found at temples and on Hindu Gods in Indian housholds. The three wise men and Jesus has been replaced with a Peacock and an Elephant. And instead of an icon my family is decorating the wall, and of course the essence stick that compleats it all:)
 
Thinking that this will be the first time I celebrate christmas without my family surely made me think about the Christmases i celebrated during my childhood.
A tradition related to Christianity or not, for me this month means bringing reflection over life and over the people you've got the greates honour to have in your life.
 
 
 
 
Happy First Advent:)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Kommentera här: