Let's do this!

 
So, time goes.. No, it runs..
 
Am in my second week of clinical posting at the Cardiology ward on KMC Hospital. And so many things is happening every day!! 
One day a older client got diarrhea. And her huspand wasn't there at her bed side. The thing with Indian hospitals is that the clients relatives are the one who takes care of the client if the client is not able to take care of them self: changing of clothes, bathroom manageing, feeding, paprework -you name it! Without the clients relatives there nures would have a hell...
On the other hand the nurese are extremelly lazy when it comes to taking care of the clients.
So, this client told me she wanted to go to the bathroom, and with the minimum knowledge I had about the client, I wasn't sure if she would be able to walk. And her Kannada didn't really help.  So, I asked the staff nurse how to solve  the problem. "Clients huspand is not there?" Didn't give me an answwer of how to manage the situation. So I went back and found her in her own diarrhoea. Went back and told the nurses, and asked how to solve the problem. "Clients huspand is not there?"
NOOoooo, still Noooo I said. "So, how do you manage it?" "Sertain units you use in this care?" I asked..
The staff nurse continued with her paper work and ignorred me for a short while, until she told me to take cotton.  Hm...cotton...ok.
So, I started to prepare the units while the client was lying in her bed, and I told my classmates how they could assist. And there we stood, seven nursing student helping this poor client get clean, change sheets, and my classmates helped her put on a zari.
After maybe 30 min we were finally done believing we all got a little bit close eachother after that moment where we got together to help the poor client who only wanted to go to the toilet...
 

Kommentera här: