Finished my OT posting

 
Today I finished my ten scrubbs that we had to do during our Operation Theater posting! So, to explain "scrubbs" it means that I had to weat the gown, be in the sterile feild and assist the surgeon during the surgery. But of course, since the students doesn't have any experience we get to do mostly basic things. Sometimes we don't do anothing, simply standing, and sometimes we get to handle the instruments, cut sutures etc. But it's fun as crazy!!:)
 
Today I scrubbed for three hours. It was a case where a large cancer cyst had been removed and they were planning to take the chest muscle an fill the whole in the jaw - so amazing what can be done with a surgery! I didn't do the main work during the surgery of course, but instead a very good surgery who apparently is famous for taking long an precious time during his surgeries. I was told that he one time started a surgery seven in the morning and finished four in the morning the day after doing a mastectomy(removal of the breast), and after that he had made a new breast by taking a part of the womans thigh...
 
Tomorrow is going to be the last day in the OT and I am going to miss it BIG TIME...
 
 
 

Kommentera här: