Volunteer at a PHC center

 
I started doing some voluntary service at a local PHC  (Primary Health Center) in Gokarna in order to regain some knowledge from the field of nursing. I've spent an enormous amount of time on PHC's during my college time, so there was not much new information about it. A PHC is a like a "Vårdcentral" back home in Sweden where there is only one Doctor, one nurse, one nurse assistant and a lab.technician. But only One nurse on duty 24/7. These government buildings are sometimes over 70 years old and some of them nearly 100 years old. And this local clinic had bedrooms with whols in the roofs and fungal infested walls; not the very best place to treat sick people in. And luckelly theyve decided not to. But every area faces their problem. Gokarna, for instance, is a small town with a great amount of tourists, both Indian and non Indian tourist, pilgrimages etc, who visit the place for its religious place, spiritual atmosphere and peaceful and beautiful beaches. Hence, the local health care workers have to not only take care of the local people but also take care of its sometimes not so careful visitors and seasonal beach shack workers. Drunken tourists and dehydrated foreigners are just a few problems to mention that the health care staff are facing on a regular basis. And it was only last year that the "Tourist department" decided to put a couple of Life guards on the beaches to enhance the security for the bathing guests. I can not guarantee the exact number but based on information from a few locals about 20-30 people were rescued last year thanks to the new Life Guards
The education level of the Life Guards is not much to mention though. Even though I'm sure many of them are doing a good job I've seen a number of them sitting under a tree instead of sitting on their tower watching over the bathing guests. And their level of education is equal to a +2 degree (Gymnasium degree) and a week or two of "Life Guard education". But working on the beach is more than watching over people in the ocean. And according to the Doctor more life could have been saved if only the basic knowledge of life rescue was practiced with precision.
I'm not allowed to help out as much as I wish since I'm only volunteering. But I try to clarify problems with foreigners who visit, remind the nurse about the importance to wear glows and listen with eager ears to all the stories and problems the Doctor is facing. I hope that I, in the future, can find solutions to problems they are facing in their community, big as small once.
 
Hmmm,...I aways had a interest in swiming..maybe I should become a Life Guard?!😉
 
 
 - View over Gokarna Main beach☺😍
 
 
 
 

Kommentera här: