Kerala:)

Sessionals is finally over, and we already got some of our papers back and passed two subjects out of six so far.
 
I got an invitation from my friend Rahul to visit his family in Kerala this weekend that just passed, since we got two days of holiday!
Yesterdays celebration was Vijaydashami which is a Hindu holiday where one should leave your studies, and go to the tempel for puja for your books;)
Maybe that wouldn't be such a bad idea to ask for blessings for your books one's a year...
 
So last saturday we took a six hour long train ride to Calicut, in Kerala, where we stayed at his parents place till monday. It was such an wonderful experience to see how he was living, in a small cozy, house surrounded by tons of coconut trees. 
We went for a nice walk along the beach, had a nice visit at the city park and had our dinner at a nice restaurant in the evening! His parents were very sweet and we did our best to communicate since they didn't know much english, and me,..naaada malealum..
And oh boy,..I got to eat wonderful Kerala food:) And since they usually eat with their hands in the south, I just had to follow the tradition and also eaty with my hands;)  
It's funny to think how fast one get used with certain things, and som some things take time to get used to. And then, some things one won't get used to at all no matter how much you are exposed to that certain thing.
One thing I thought I would get used to is all the stares I get everytime I go outside Manipal area.
One could never get used to the way people stare at you as you were from another planet or something. And Kerala had a lot of people who stared at me like they never had seen a foreigner before. 
Still, I don't care and I don't look back. Or sometimes I Do look back with a smile, hoping they will give me a smile back, which they usually don't. Exept for the children and the young teenage boys! 
 
 
 
 
 
  
Tomorrow we have another day of since the muslims are celebrating Bakra Eid!  
And am planning to go for a work out, study some pharmacology and hopefully I'll take som time to read my Shantaram over a cup of coffee:)
 
Sweet dream!
 
 
 

Kommentera här: